

## 2019 – School District 10 Committees and Representatives

Special Committees			
Committee	Description	Trustee	
Arrow Lakes Aboriginal Education Advisory Council	One Trustee belongs to the district Aboriginal Council to gather and bring info from the council, back to the Board of Education.	Danyea Simon Christine Dixon (A)	
ALTA (Arrow Lakes Teachers Association /Board Liaison Committee)	One Trustee sits on this committee along with ALTA Union President, Superintendent and HR staff.	Melissa Teindl Lora Lee Brekke (A)	
Audit Committee	All Trustees sit on this committee along with the Superintendent/Secretary-Treasurer and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer for the annual Budget Consultation process.		
Calendar Committee	One Trustee acts as a representative of the Board to sit with representatives from partner groups to meet annually and plan the school district calendar on a three year plan.	Chris Dixon Melissa Teindl (A)	
CUPE (Canadian Union of Public Employees) /Board Liaison Committee	One Trustee sits on this committee along with CUPE representatives, Superintendent and Human Resources staff.	Melissa Teindl Lora Lee Brekke (A)	
DPAC (District Parent Advisory Committee)	One Trustee is invited to DPAC meetings to provide and update on District and report back to Board of Education at regular meetings.	Lora Lee Brekke Melissa Teindl (A)	
Educational Transformation Committee	One Trustee serves on this committee to help inform and plan for the new curriculum changes, along with the Superintendent and representatives from our partner groups.	Chris Dixon Rhonda Farrell (A)	
IT (Information Technology) Committee	One Trustee sits on this district committee which helps inform policy, decisions and planning for information technology in the district.	Rhonda Farrell Danyea Simon (A)	
OH&S (Occupational Health and Safety)	One Trustee and District OH&S representatives meet throughout the school year.	Lora Lee Brekke Danyea Simon (A)	



## 2019 – School District 10 Committees and Representatives

Special Committees			
Committee	Description	Trustee	
PAC (Parent Advisory Committee)	Trustees are invited guests to School PACs Each Trustee reports to their assigned PAC a summary of proceedings from the Board of Education and reports key points from PAC back to Board of Education at regular meetings of the Board.  • Burton Elementary • Edgewood Elementary • Lucerne Elementary-Secondary • Nakusp Elementary • Nakusp Secondary	BES: Danyea Simon EES: Danyea Simon Lucerne: Rhonda Farrell NES: Melissa Teindl NSS: Christine Dixon (The Board Chair is alternate for all seats)	
Policy Committee	All Trustees sit on this committee along with the Superintendent/Secretary-Treasurer, to develop, review, or amend Board Policy.		
Scholarship Committee	Two Trustees sit as an interview team to consider students for District/Provincial Scholarship(s) members from the public may sit on this committee as well.	Rhonda Farrell Melissa Teindl	
Shared Use Agreements Committee	One Trustee acts as a representative of the Board to sit with the Superintendent/Secretary-Treasurer or other district staff to meet as needed with group(s) we have a shared use agreement with.	Rhonda Farrell Danyea Simon (A)	
Staff Appreciation Committee	Trustees (not limited) sit on this committee for the purposes of planning the annual Board - Staff Appreciation celebration hosted in the spring.	Lora Lee Brekke Melissa Teindl Chris Dixon	



## 2019 – School District 10 Committees and Representatives

External Committees			
Committee	Description	Trustee	
BCPSEA (British Columbia Public Schools Employers Association)	One Trustee acts as a representative to BCPSEA for SD10 Arrow Lakes.	Melissa Teindl Lora Lee Brekke (A)	
BCSTA (British Columbia School Trustees Association) Kootenay Boundary Branch	One Trustee either elected by the Board of Education or as an elected executive on KBB provides a brief summary of KBB/BCSTA proceedings at regular meetings.	Lora Lee Brekke Melissa Teindl (A)	
BCSTA Provincial Council (PC)	One Trustee to attend and report to and from PC regarding BCSTA business and advocacy.	Lora Lee Brekke Melissa Teindl (A)	
Chambers of Commerce	One Trustee shall serve as liaison between Chamber of Commerce and the Board.	Nakusp: Chris Dixon Melissa Teindl (A) New Denver/Silverton: Rhonda Farrell Lora Lee Brekke (A)	
OLRC (Okanagan Labour Relations Council)	One Trustee acts as a representative to OLRC as a Director to serve on the Board. One Alternate Director will be a Senior Administrative Official of the District.	Lora Lee Brekke Terry Taylror (A)	