

SPECIAL REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SCHOOL DISTRICT 10 (Arrow Lakes)

MINUTES

School Board Office 98 6th Ave NW

Monday, September 28, 2020 Time: 7:00 pm

TRUSTEES: L. Brekke, C. Dixon, R. Farrell, D. Simon, S. Gascon

STAFF: T. Taylor, M. Grenier, P. Dubinsky, S. Woolf

OTHERS: R. Bardati – ALTA, J. Boivin – Reporter for Valley Voice, J. Mah, A. McLaren-Caux, P. Beck,

K. Bone, N. Bone, C. Volansky, G. Grout

1. Call to Order

Board Chair Brekke called the meeting to order at 7:04pm.

Acknowledgement of Territory

2. Adoption of Agenda

Moved by D. Simon, seconded by C. Dixon that the Agenda be adopted as presented.

3. Acknowledgement of Notice of Calling Special Meeting

Whereas: The Board was informed verbally at the Regular Meeting held Tuesday, September 22nd, 2020 of a Special Regular Meeting to be held Monday, September 28th, 2020 to approve construction of the Nakusp Child Care Centre.

Moved by D. Simon, seconded by S. Gascon that the Board of Education for School District 10 (Arrow Lakes) waivethe requirement for 48 hours written notice.

CARRIED

4. Nakusp Child Care Centre HUB

Whereas: The Board of Education received official notice on September 18, 2020, of funding approval in the amount of \$3,000,000 from MCFD New Spaces Child Care Fund and \$150,000 from Columbia Basin Trust for the construction of a Nakusp Child Care Centre HUB.

Moved by R. seconded by C. Dixon that the Board of Education direct staff to sign applicable fund agreements and approve proceeding with construction of the Nakusp Child Care Centre HUB.	ing
CARRIEL)
Trustee Dixon dissented.	
And	
Whereas: The Board wishes to ensure that operation of the Nakusp Child Care Centre will not impact K-12 operating funds.	
Moved by D. Simon, seconded by C. Dixon that the Board of Education for School District (Arrow Lakes) directs that in no case will operational funding for the Nakusp Child Care Centre be subsidized by K-12 operating funding budgets.	
CARRIEL)
Adjournment	

T. Taylor

Superintendent/Secretary-Treasurer

The meeting was adjourned at 7:41pm

5.

L. Brekke

Chairperson