

2023-2024 – School District 10 (Arrow Lakes) Board Committees and Representation

Updated December 19, 2023

Committee	Description	Trustees
Board Committees		
Policy Committee	This committee develops, reviews, and proposes amendments to Board policies. All Trustees are members of this committee.	All Trustees
School District Committees		
Finance Committee	This Committee plans the annual Budget Consultation process. All Trustees are members of this committee, along with the Superintendent and Secretary-Treasurer.	All Trustees
Arrow Lakes Indigenous Education Advisory Council	This council advises the District on matters of interest to Indigenous students, staff and communities. One Trustee is a member of this council.	Danyea Simon Chris Dixon (A)
Calendar Committee	The Committee meets annually to formulate and recommend the school calendars for the following three years. One Trustee is the Board's representative on the Committee, along with principals and vice-principals, students, and partner group representatives, pursuant to the Board's Bylaw No. 9 – Amendment to School Calendar.	Steve Gascon Danyea Simon (A)
DPAC (District Parent Advisory Committee)	One Trustee is invited to DPAC meetings to provide Board and District updates and report DPAC updates back to the Board.	Chris Dixon Rhonda Farrell (A)
Educational Transformation Committee	The committee plans for curriculum changes. One Trustee serves on this committee, along with the Superintendent and representatives from partner groups.	Steve Gascon Chris Dixon (A)
Tech Committee	The committee advises the District on technology infrastructure and student and staff technology needs.	Steve Gascon Chris Dixon (A)



2023-2024 – School District 10 (Arrow Lakes) Board Committees and Representation

Updated December 19, 2023

Committee	Description	Trustees		
School District Committees (Continued)				
PACs (Parent Advisory Committees)	Trustees are invited to each School PAC to provide District and Board updates and to receive information and updates from the PAC, which are reported back to the Board. Burton Elementary.	BES: Danyea Simon EES: Danyea Simon LESS: Rhonda Farrell NES: Steve Gascon NSS: Chris Dixon (The Board Chair is the alternate for all PACs.)		
Scholarship Committee	The committee evaluates student eligibility and merit for District and Provincial scholarships. Two Trustees are members of the committee, which interviews prospective student scholarship recipients.	Steve Gascon Chris Dixon		
Facilities License Committee	The committee meets as needed to review potential facility license agreements or to meet with prospective facility users. The committee is comprised of one Trustee, the Superintendent, the Secretary-Treasurer and the Manager of Operations	Rhonda Farrell Amanda Murphy (A)		
Staff Appreciation Committee	The committee plans the annual Board - Staff Appreciation celebration hosted in the spring. Trustees (not limited) sit on this committee.	Chris Dixon All Trustees		



2023-2024 – School District 10 (Arrow Lakes) Board Committees and Representation

Updated December 19, 2023

Committee	Description	Trustees		
External Organizations and Committees				
BCPSEA (British Columbia Public Schools Employers Association)	One Trustee acts as a representative to BCPSEA for SD10Arrow Lakes.	Danyea Simon Amanda Murphy(A)		
BCSTA (British Columbia School Trustees Association) Kootenay Boundary Branch	One Trustee, either elected by the Board of Education or as an elected executive on KBB, provides a summary of KBB/BCSTA proceedings at regular meetings.	Amanda Murphy Chris Dixon (A)		
BCSTA Provincial Council (PC)	One Trustee to attend and report to and from PC regarding BCSTA business and advocacy.	Amanda Murphy Danyea Simon (A)		
Chambers of Commerce	One Trustee shall serve as liaison between each Chamber of Commerce and the Board.	Nakusp: TBD New Denver/Silverton: TBD		
OLRC (Okanagan Labour Relations Council)	One Trustee acts as a representative to OLRC to sit as a Director to serve on the OLRC's Board. An Alternate Director will be a Senior Administration of the District.	Rhonda Farrell Peter Dubinsky		